Woodworking in the great white north.

Welcome

It looks like the time has come to dig out from under the sawdust and start sharing and talking about woodworking in a more public way.

After years of fruitless searching for decent web content on woodworking, the last couple of years have really taken off.  There has been a phenomenal growth in content ranging from amature and professional blogs, much improved magazine sites, podcasts, instructional videos and the creation of a global community.

As a self taught amature woodworker, I have found in this community a catalyst to nudge me into developing the skills to take me from utilitarian woodworking to (hopefully) finer craftsmanship.

This site will evolve as I make time to add content on projects that I have done, am doing and hope to do in the future.  I look forward to sharing what I’ve learned and in turn to learn from others along the way.

I look forward to becoming part of this great online woodworking community!

Ian (woodcanuck)

2 responses

  1. Colm

    Hi Ian, I saw that you had posted on Lumberjocks website that you had just got a HD R4511 recently. I was there yesterday, May 1st ’10 at HD and they have them reduced to $599 from $799 here in (Vic BC). If you bought it at full price you maybe able to get them to reduce it to the sale price if you are lucky. I have heard it done if you “decide” that you want to return it to them.

    I will post this at LJ’s

    May 2, 2010 at 1:17 pm

    • Hey Colm,

      Thanks, I went in saturday, saw the price reduction and went home for the receipt. They were kind enough to refund the difference, even though I got a $125 discount on the $799 when I bought it. So I seriously lucked out and got it for $474.

      Just call me happy!

      Thanks for the note.

      May 2, 2010 at 9:58 pm

Leave a Reply

