Woodworking in the great white north.

Workshop pictures

Thanks Randy for pointing out the lack of photos on the workshop page. I’d been meaning to do this for a while, so I guess it’s time to stop procrastinating.

These are just a few basic shots around the shop with some explanations of what’s in each shot.

The shop is roughly 14’x17′ and is an enclosed space in my garage. Before you go into the workshop I’ve got a few things in the garage that relate:


Naturally I have a collection of Kenora Dinner Jackets (lumber shirts, plaid shirts, Norm-wear, call it what you like) to deal with the rather chilly winters. These are below the glittery handmade ‘Daddy’s Workshop’ sign that my daughter made.
Over to the left is the dust extraction system. The Rockler portable dust collector is hanging on the wall and is hooked directly into the Thein/Thien? separator that I built into an old garbage can. The staves on the outside do a pretty decent job of controlling the oil-can effect when the vac is on. Feeding directly into the garbage can is a duct that goes through the wall into the workshop where a 4″ hose is attached.


Looking ‘south’ at the entrance, I’ve got the double doors for the entrance (for big stuff). Note the dust collection hose hanging on the wall to the right. This works pretty well so far. I used to have a 2 1/2″ rigid hose system (ironically made by Ridgid) piped throughout the shop, but my shop vac didn’t have enough pull to work effectively, so I replaced it with this 4″ hose.
On the left is the dart board…doesn’t everyone have one in their shop?
Up above the tablesaw is my radiant heater, which really does do a decent job of taking the chill off of everything in the winter months. Up to the right is an ambient air filter, which does a remarkably good job of sucking out the fine dust in a short period of time….particularly when someone, who shall remain nameless at this time, routs dados in MDF….cough cough cough.
The door on the right has chalkboard paint on it and this has proven to be very handy for sketching up rough ideas, or posting dimensions that I need…or keeping score at darts.


Now you’re looking north from the entrance. The tablesaw is more or less built into the bench and the main bench acts as a permanent outfeed table as well as an assembly table. The bench itself consists of a couple of old hefty cabinets scavenged by my Dad years ago with a few layers of sheet goods on top. The sheet goods will eventually get replaced by a good solid top, but not just yet.
Down the right side is an old cabinet where I keep too much stuff, but primarily have my chop saw on it.
Across the back are shelving units in need of some serious reorganizing. One section has scrap lumber, one section has various hand power tools and my router table (which can be fitted into the workbench by removing a panel) along with a cabinet for glues/finishes/fasteners and assorted junk.
The floor is best seen in this picture too, it’s dri-core 2’x2′ squares with an interlocking rubber floor. This goes a long way to reducing fatigue in the winter…prior to this I stood on the concrete floor and got plenty of leg pain.


The west wall.
Working left to right I’ve got two rolling carts that I built out of plywood and MDF, one for the planer (which conveniently outfeeds onto the workbench/tablesaw when needed), the other for the drill press. The drawers in these are handy, they’ve got everything from drill bits, drills, planes, chisels to goggles, dust masks, etc.
To the right, under the window is the bench for the lathe. The regular lathe tools are up on a rack againsts the window. The cabinet underneath I have yet to organize into usable space…but I’ll likely convert this into drawerspace.
A bit farther to the right is an old laundry cabinet with my belt/disc sander and scrollsaw (not in the picture) with pegboard up behind it with a messy assortment of hand tools.


Looking at the east wall, I’ve got mostly cabinets and storage. The long wooden cabinet on the wall has a large collection of magazines and books on woodworking.

Finally on the east wall are some more cabinets and drawers filled with all assortments of things from tablesaw accessories to sandpaper, shopvac accessories to home renovation stuff (tiling and drywall tools). On the far right is the bandsaw. This was a gift from my neighbour (it’s an old Rockwell-Beaver 10″ bandsaw) who used to do a lot of woodworking but has since retired from the hobby…very lucky of me to get this.

So, that’s the 360 on the workshop. I have a few things on the go that I want to dig into in more detail in the blog and maybe do a video tour as well. More on that after I have time to get some of the clutter out of the way that has accumulated since these pictures were taken.

Ian

2 responses

  1. Randy

    Thanks for the pictures! I always enjoy looking at other shops, never know when someone’s shop plan can tip me of to making mine better.

    I had the exact same Beaver bandsaw, 3 wheels, right?

    Your shop looks to be planned very well for tool location. The one thing I am “working on” is building a decent outfeed table for my tablesaw.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Unfortunately, I have no dartboard… 😦

    but I was wearing those shirts long before Norm came along to make them popular.
    Don’t all Canadians have them?

    August 12, 2010 at 5:54 pm

  2. Too true…I’ve been wearing those jackets since I was a kid.

    When I was a teenager it was standard issue: lumber jacket and kodiak boots (laces untied of course) and a worn out pair of levis. Ahh the good old days….hmm, seems to me I just described what I wear in the workshop most days. There’s definitely something psychological involved here.

    August 15, 2010 at 8:34 am

Leave a Reply

