Woodworking in the great white north.

Blog gets a little make-over

I was getting kind of bored with the old Blog look and feel and after trying out a few theme changes in WordPress I realized that it wasn’t going to be a quick and dirty change to get what I wanted. I decided that I could attack some small changes and grow towards the look I want.

Not to be dissuaded, I opted for one or two quick changes I could make that would improve the look and feel (to me.)

The background is mahogany (which you probably already guessed, being woodworkers). BTW – I do not recommend googling ‘ebony’ images…well, unless you’re feeling lonely…nevermind.

The creepy tree roots picture is gone and I went out in the shop and grabbed a few tools and some rough cherry boards, a little decorating with plane shavings and some accent lighting and voila a new header picture. I was thinking of sepia toning the picture, but it didn’t work out as nice.

Lastly, now I show previews/teasers of posts rather than the latest blog entry.

Let me know what you think…

Ian

7 responses

  1. Very nice! I’ve been thinking about switching over to wordpress myself, but haven’t really had the time.

    I really like the way you put together your own header pic out of your own tools and materials.

    October 19, 2010 at 8:23 pm

  2. Kyle Barton

    Looks good! I see the scraper plane, saw, marking knife kit, and marking gauge from WIA.

    October 21, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    • ding ding ding ding….give the man a prize!!!

      Good eyes on that one…tried to get a progression of ‘old’ tools from the left through to ‘new’ tools on the right.

      Some of the old tools I got from my Dad, who I think brought them from Scotland, I think they were his Dad’s.

      October 21, 2010 at 6:27 pm

  3. Scott

    I just found your blog thanks to Ron HOCK>

    Where in Canada?

    Scott

    October 25, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    • Hey Scott, welcome to the blog.

      I’m in Toronto, you?

      Ian

      October 25, 2010 at 9:25 pm

  4. Scott

    Cranbrook, BC in the East Kootenays.

    Scott

    October 26, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    • Cool…meet you half way for lunch sometime? Winnipeg? 🙂

      October 27, 2010 at 8:06 am

Leave a Reply

