Woodworking in the great white north.

Hock Shoulder Plane Kit

While at Woodworking In America, I had the pleasure of talking with Ron Hock  for a bit. While I was most impressed with his $1 wooden planes (balsawood with wings) I was equally impressed by the kits he had for a shoulder plane and a Krenov style plane. I ended up buying both…ok, you got me, I bought the balsawood plane too.

I explained to Ron that I was new to tools without tails and he handed me a small wooden plane and encouraged me to try it. It felt awesome to hold and having played a bit with metal body planes I was surprised at how much more you can finesse a wooden plane. That was when he told me that the plane I was using (my first wooden plane experience) was a Krenov plane….made by Krenov himself. Not bad for a first experience.

If the other vendors get wind of this, I’m done for next year…I’m a headcase when it comes to kits. I love the idea that someone’s done the hard part of getting things ready for me, and all I have to do it put it together and enjoy it. Yes…my childhood room was filled with model airplanes. The real reason I like these is that it gives me an easy introduction to something that I will likely attempt from scratch at a later date.

I tore open the shoulder plane kit last night and taped various parts of the build process. Bear with me on the video…no one was selling video blog kits. This is part 1 of the video, I hope to get into the shop tonight and finish off the plane and videotape the rest and post part 2 over the weekend.

click here for part II

7 responses

  1. Good video. I look forward to the next post. Thanks for posting it!

    October 22, 2010 at 10:56 am

    • Thanks for the encouragement. Hopefully more to come this weekend.

      October 22, 2010 at 1:05 pm

  2. Pburb

    Thanks for the great video.
    I’ve been looking at the same kits
    and after watching you walk through
    the process step by step…I’m sold.
    Thanks for the push.

    October 23, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    • My pleasure, glad you got something helpful out of it. The kit is a walk in the park and the final product is remarkably good. I wasn’t able to video tape the finishing up, but I’ll do a video with the walk through of what I did…there really wasn’t much left to do. Ron’s video on his site also covers this really well. I’ll try and get part II up soon.

      October 23, 2010 at 10:09 pm

  3. Pingback: HOCK Shoulder Plane Build Blog « The Sharpening Blog

  4. Pingback: Hock Shoulder Plane Kit – part II « Woodcanuck's Blog

  5. Pingback: Ian’s Shoulder Plane Build | Matt's Basement Workshop

Leave a Reply

