Woodworking in the great white north.

Hock Shoulder Plane Kit – part II

I shot part II of the assembly video after the fact, once the glue had dried up, there really wasn’t much to do.

A quick pass with the band saw and I had the final shape of the plane ready for a quick bit of sanding.  The sanding process involved cleaning up the bandsaw marks, flattening the sides as they were slightly uneven.  The sole needed a quick pass with sandpaper, while holding the plane up against a square block of wood.

With the plane sanded, I inserted the blade to tune the mouth of the plane.  It required removal of roughly 1/32nd of an inch to open the mouth enough to accept shavings.  I admit that I created masses of shavings at this point and thoroughly enjoyed myself.

With all the hard work done, I soaked the outside with tung oil, making sure to keep the opening for the blade and wedge clear of oil.

All in all, the experience of building my own wooden plane (even though I used a kit) was extremely satisfying.  When I bought the kit from Ron, he asked for feedback on the instructions and video.  My feedback is this – it’s perfect – the instructions were flawless to me, particularly when accompanied with the video.  If you’re going to get one of these kits, watch the video, read the instructions and you’ll have no problem.

Thanks Ron, this was a great experience.

click here for part I

4 responses

  1. Thanks, Ian. Great report!

    Ron

    October 25, 2010 at 11:46 am

  2. Pingback: HOCK Shoulder Plane Build Blog « The Sharpening Blog

  3. Nice plane! Also a nice pair of videos and write-ups to go with your blog. You made it look pretty easy!

    October 25, 2010 at 3:07 pm

  4. Pingback: Hock Shoulder Plane Kit « Woodcanuck's Blog

Leave a Reply

